Dealing with Frizz

Once I figured out how to use Shampoo Bars I was a little disappointed that I still had some frizz.  Many people mentioned the frizz went away with the shampoo bars, but then again everyone’s hair is different!  There are many different ways of dealing with frizz, you can try different conditioners, oils, or other after shower products.

Conditioners – Conditioners was the first thing I tried as this was the main suggestion online.  I’ve tried both conditioners after shampooing and leave in conditioners.  I found the leave in conditioners worked the best of the two.

img_0388

OKAY Black Jamaican Castor Oil Conditioner: This was the first one I tried.  I like it, but honestly it didn’t help with the frizz as much as I would like.  After trying others I found this was just as good as all the other natural conditioners.

Briogeo Don’t Despair Repair deep conditioning mask: I received this sample in one of my IPSY bags, it got a lot of great reviews so I was hoping this would be the end of my search for frizz control.  After trying it a few times I realized it’s about the same as the others.  This was when I realized the wash out conditioners were just not for me.

Pure Brazilian Leave in Conditioner: This was amazing!  When I looked into it I noticed it wasn’t silicone free, but it did work great with my shampoo bar hair care.  It left my hair soft, silky, and frizz free.  The only downside is I noticed that I would need to use this daily to control my frizz.  I did love this enough to purchase the full size normal shampoo and conditioner.  If you are staying away from silicone you may want to skip this one.

Oils – I’m really new to using Oils on my hair.  I was afraid to try any because I thought they would just make my hair greasy.  Then thanks to IPSY I received a Tarte Maracuja Oil in my December bag, I fell in love!

tarte-maracuja-oil

Tarte Maracuja Oil: I highly recommend giving this a try if you are looking to control frizz.  Use this before your hair dry’s!  I place a few drops in my hand (with the sample size it ends up being a dropper full).  I rub my hands together then I run my hands through my hair first.  Then I use my hands to scrunch the ends of my hair.  Once I’m done applying it to my hair I noticed that my hands were still a little oily, so rub my face with what’s left on my hands.  This oil is great for the face and hair, so why not use it on both?  I will be buying more when this runs out!

Other After Shower Products – I can’t really provide any input here; I don’t use any!  Make sure to look into the products to determine if you will need to shampoo daily with the use.

Leave a Reply

