Beauty and the Bees Sample Review

After trying one of J.R. Liggett’s shampoo bars I thought I should try a variety pack from Beauty and the Bees. Both brands are highly rated and I think it’s important to try different types of shampoo bars in hopes of finding the perfect one.

Before I get into reviewing the six different soaps, I just wanted to say that they all appeared to work just fine. Some soaps did work better than others, so it’s still important to try different types. Depending on your hair or hard water you may need additional products to get the perfect hair.

bar-shampoo-sample-set

Lemon & Chamomile Shampoo – I tried this second to last, I figured it would be one that would work well for my hair and I was right. It was good, but it wasn’t the best. Compare to others it worked just fine with my hair, but there are others that worked just a little better.

Beer Shampoo – This was the second one that I tried because I had heard great things about this one. A blog I read had raved about this one, she sounded like she had similar hair to me so I was hoping this would be a winner. It is nice, but it is the middle of the road for me. I would defiantly use it again, but it will not be a frequent purchase for my hair.

Moroccan Mud Shampoo – This was by far one of the best for my hair. It lathered up really nicely and I could easily go three days on one washing with this one. It was better than most when it comes to frizz, but I still needed something to really control it.

Voodoo Bamboo Charcoal Shampoo – This was the ONLY soap that I would never buy again. It was defiantly not the right one for my hair. I have darker hair so I wasn’t concerned about the color, but it just didn’t leave my hair feeling nice after. I really can’t explain what it was. I did use this one on my daughter and it worked much better on her hair. Her hair seemed to work great with all of the shampoo bars, this could be her hair type or just that she’s younger.

Eggcellent Egg & Lemon Shampoo – I read that egg is good for frizz, so when I tried this one I had high hopes. In fact I saved this for last because I figured it would blow the rest out of the water. I liked it, but I think that maybe I had too high of hopes. I would definitely use it again, but it’s not on the top of my list.

Rosemary & Mint Shampoo – This was the first one I tried. With the mint I had hoped it would work similar to J.R. Liggett’s Joboba & Peppermint. It worked fine and it smelled nice, I was just hoping for a bit more mint. For me this was one of the better of the six.

If there is one thing I want you to take away from my reviews, similar hair does not mean similar hair products. There are so many different factors that go into this, like where you live and if you have hard water. In these winter months I’m noticing definite differences in how my hair reacts to the shampoo bars, more frizz! How you wash out the shampoo bars could defiantly affect how they feel on your hair. I use apple cider vinegar, and when I tried these soaps for the first time I was still figuring out the best way to wash them out for my hair.

I also think that some of the soaps like the Voodoo Bamboo Charcoal Shampoo could also have much different reactions for the different hair types.

I defiantly recommend trying different soaps with the sample first, it’s a great way to try the different soaps without breaking the bank and feeling bad tossing one when you just don’t like how it works for you.

Leave a Reply

