IPSY May 2017 Review

Fridays are always exciting, but Fridays when IPSY arrives are like Christmas!  This month may not be high on my list for bags, but there are still a few items I’m really excited to add to my collection.  The bag this month was wrapped in some pink tissue paper, I’m thinking it’s to keep the suspense up to see what’s in the bag since it’s clear.

This months bag is all about summer, and all the items really do scream summer!  The bag itself feels like a pool toy and has ice cream cones and popsicles on it.  I really didn’t like the bag, but an ice cream cone zipper pull would have looked pretty awesome with it!  The bag opened up much wider than any of the others I’ve received so far, I hope to see this in future bags.  The card they include is always cute, but I’m always so excited to play with my new stuff so I tend to forget about it.


Let’s get this bag started by talking about the brush, I received the Royal & Langnickel Precision Angled brush.  I love brushes, this is my sixth brush and I’m really excited to give this new one a try.  When I first tried to look for this brush on the website I was trying to get an idea of size.  I’m fairly new to using all the different styles of brushes so I’m defantly going to look for tips on how to use this specific brush. I decided to include a picture of all six brushes I’ve gotten from IPSY to help show the size of the brush, it’s in between a blush and eyeshadow brush.  If you use a brush like this I would love to hear how you use it!


Next up, let’s take a look at the one item I’m super excited to try but would never have purchased for myself.  PEEK Beauty metalimatte in A-Boo is a creamy blush that almost feels like a lip gloss.  It does not have any smell has a super creamy texture.  I tend to prefer the darker pigment blushes, this is is interesting because it seems like it could be used for either.  If you put a small layer it’s a lot lighter, but if your feeling bold you can add a few extra layers to get the color.

I have mixed feelings about this one.  I’m not sure I would like this over podwder, but for the summer I fell this would go great over sunscreen.  It may also work well in the winter when my skin is more dry.  I have oily skin, so I’m not sure how well this will work in general.  This is one of the items that I look forward to reviewing after using it for a few months.


The Jelly Pong Pong Supercharged Super Intense Eyeshadow Duo in Electric is by far a top pick for this bag.  The color below is not the best, but I really wanted to get this post out today!  It’s a pretty rose gold type color along with a yellow gold.  I love eyeshadow and I’m excited to have the gold since I’ve gotten enough pink (and highlighters!).

This went on really well and the colors are just awesome!  I wish I had the gold color on Thursday, it would have gone so well with my outfit.  Both colors are glittery, and I’m so excited to add this to my daily makeup bag!  This is defantly a great summer product with the glitter and overall colors.


Lipstick, lipstick, lipstick, so much lipstick!  I seriously need a break from lipstick for a few bags.  I could use some chapstick or lipgloss, but enough of the lipstick already.  This Mellow Cosmetics Creamy Matte Lipstick isn’t bad, but I just need a lipstick break.  It’s another matte lipstick, matte seems to be the “it” thing for lipsticks at the moment.  

The first thing I noticed with this was the smell, it smelled like coconut and made me want to be on a beach!  Does this fit the summer theme, YES.  For a matte lipstick it is nice and creamy, but it showed every chapped part of my lips.  I felt like after I had it on for a few minutes it started to look much better and continued to feel creamy.  I’m not sure how well this will stay on, but maybe when I start to feel like lipsticks again I’ll give it a better review.  The color is also really nice, it’s not too bright but not to soft, perferct for the office.


Finally, let’s talk highlighters!  This is my third highlighter from IPSY, and I’ve decided to use highlighters as eyeshadows only.  I just don’t think I’ve figured out how to use highlighters for a natural look.  Urban Decay Afterglow in Sin seems to be very similar to my last highlighter from IPSY, lots of sparkle and shine.  I’m in the process of a highlighter compare post, so I’m hoping to give a better review and comparison in the next week or two.  This isn’t a bad product, it’s just not “me”.


Let’s see how the colors look, I did a swatch on my arm of the four products using the Percision Angled brush.  It’s hard to see all of the colors so look for the glitter.  The highlight of this bag is defantly the brush and eyeshadow.


I’m going to end this post with the products over a clean makeup-free face.  I applied the lipstick, as you can tell it’s a nice color and looks amazing with bunny ears.  The PEEK Metalimatte blush is applied to one side (opposite of my beauty mark), I did use multiple layers to get the darker pink color.  I used the highlighter on the upper part of both of my eyes, its hard to tell but it’s really glittery.  I put the pink on one side (with the beauty mark) and the gold on the other side (same as the blush).  

I did receive a lot of great products this month, so thanks again for another awesome month IPSY.  I’m really hoping to see some brow product and/or mascara next month.  For $10 a month, it’s defantly worth the subscription!  

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Siyana says:

    Oh you got so many cool stuff, I love the lipstick! And this bag awww! xx

    Like

    1. Amy Elliott says:

      Thanks! The lipstick is pretty good, I’m hoping to give it a better try in a few months. In the summer I just love tinted chapstick and lipgloss. The thing I love about IPSY is the bags are always so different, people seem to love or hate them. I love that they keep coming up with unique designs and styles. If it was fabric instead of plastic I would have liked it better, but it’s still cute.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Siyana says:

        Ipsy looks like one of the best subscriptions to me! Sadly, I can’t get it but I really enjoy reading about what other people got!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Amy Elliott says:

        IPSY is pretty awesome, hopefully they will move outside of the US and Canada. They seem to be one of the bigger beauty subscription boxes.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

