IPSY June 2017 Review

This is my 11th bag from IPSY and I’m so glad I finally gave them a try!  The bag is pretty cute, I don’t love it, but I don’t dislike it.

IMG_2078

IPSY is also doing something a little different this month.  They made a slight change to the insert they place in the bag.  Instead of just a piece of paper with the theme, it’s a folder with a packet of information about IPSY and the products in the bag.  I think it’s pretty awesome, but not necessary in my mind.  I know many people have asked for info about the products, and they have it in the bag now, but all the same information is already on the website/app.  It looks like each piece of paper with product information is exactly what you find on the website, just without the reviews.

IMG_2079IMG_2080

Ok, let’s take a look at the goodies!  I’m going to start with the items I’m least excited about first.  There really isn’t a “bad” product in the bag, just some I know I won’t use as much.  Total value for June 2017 is $37.75, not too bad for a $10/month subscription!

IMG_2077

Luna By Luna Cosmetics Eyeshadow in Jace (Full Size, Value: $15) – I’m just not a fan of an eyeshadow that is nude.  I’ll use it some, but in general it’s not just not my color.  After looking at the swatch, it might make a good blush.

IMG_2072IMG_2073

NYX Professional Makeup Whipped Lip & Cheek Souffle (Full Size, Value: $6) – This is low on my list because I really don’t need too many more lip products.  After giving this a quick try, it does fall more into the lip gloss category.  I really wanted one of the brighter pink colors, but for a nude this isn’t too bad.  It’s a great everyday color, I may just leave this one on my desk at work.

IMG_2076

Skin ICELAND Glacial Face Wash with White Willow Bark (20 ml Sample Value: $4, Full Size 150ml for $30) – This is the first face wash I’ve gotten in my IPSY bag and it’s a really nice one!  I used more than I needed for the first try.  I added about equal parts water, mixed it with my finger and it foamed up really nice when I massaged it into my face.  It is silky smooth!

IMG_2071

DOUCCE Maxlash Volumizer Mascara (6 ml Sample, est Value $9, Full Size $22) – I’m really excited to FINALLY get another mascara in my bag!  I can already tell this is much better than the first mascara.  I haven’t actually tried it yet (and I may not have a chance before this post goes live).  One thing I liked about this is the tips in the video.  I’ve tried the top of using the end to get the bottom lashes and it worked great!

IMG_2075

The Balm Cosmetics Balm Springs Blush (1 g Sample, Value: $3.75, Full Size $21)  – Last but definitely not least, the Balms Balm Springs!  I love the Balm…and when I say love I mean LOVE!  The pigments in all of the Balm products are so deep and rich, a little goes a long way.  I received the Cabana Boy blush several bags ago and fell in love, I actually purchased the full size!  The size may be small, but you can still use a blush brush with it and it really does last just as long as many of the other samples you get with IPSY.  I’m really excited to give this a try and see if I like it any better than the Cabana Boy.

IMG_2074

Here is what the colors look like. 

 
  I had a chance to test out the goodies this morning before my post went out. The balms blush is a nice light color, and the luna was darker on my eyelids than I expected. I think the Luna would make a good blush too!  The whipped fouetté is actually pretty awesome!  I’ve worn it for half a day so far and it hasn’t dried out my lips, I have reapplied a few times though. This will find a home on my desk at work. The mascara is OK, not bad, but not the best I’ve tried. It is better than some. Here is the look, I’ve included the other IPSY items I used today too. 


 

Leave a Reply

